Jeff Radebe, Minister in the Presidency for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation and Chairperson of the National Planning Commission, has launched a call for nominations of individuals to serve on the National Planning Commission. The NPC comprises of 24 part-time external commissioners, a chairperson and a deputy chairperson appointed by the President on the basis of their specialist skills and expertise.

The first National Planning Commission was appointed by President Jacob Zuma in 2010 for a period of five years. The term of office of the current commissioners will expire in May 2015. The President intends to appoint commissioners for a further five year period.

The main objective of the Commission is to rally the nation around a common set of objectives and priorities to drive development over the longer term. The Commission advises government on cross- cutting issues that influence the long term development of South Africa. "All the work that government is doing between now and 2019 is practically the implementation of the NDP. We urge business and other sectors to also institutionalise the NDP in their planning processes and programmes so that we can move the country forward together,'' President Jacob Zuma said earlier this year.

With the National Development Plan now adopted and broadly supported across sectors of society, the focus has now shifted to implementation. "Government has developed a Medium Term Strategic Framework (2014 - 2019) which constitutes the initial building blocks toward the 2030 goals. Other sectors are encouraged to make their own concrete commitments to implement the National Development Plan," the presidency said in a statement.

"The focus of the new commission will be on advising Government on how best to implement the National Development Plan and to develop detailed plans in selected sectors that require focussed attention to drive economy growth, radical economic transformation and the sustainable development of our country and its people."

The skills listed in the call for nominations include: infrastructure development, urban and regional planning, energy, agriculture and food security, education and training, health, public policy and governance, community engagement, economics, finance, budgeting and banking, ICT, telecommunications and broadcasting, business and industry, water and sanitation, science and technology, social cohesion and nation building, futures research and scenario planning, climate change and youth development.

The nominations will be open for a 30 day period from 10 March 2015 until 10 April 2015. Details on how to submit your nominations, eligibility criteria and nomination forms are available at or

Contact Crown

Web Manager: Karen Smith
Email: admin(@)

Phone: +27 11 622 4770
Fax: +27 11 615 6108

Crown House
2 Theunis Street
Cnr Sovereign Street
Bedford Gardens
Bedfordview 2007
P.O. Box 140
Bedfordview 2008